Start menu Sticks ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2007, 09:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Start menu Sticks ?

hi, when im on the Internet Explorer 7 and im browsing web pages etc etc i close the web browser and when i press start the start menu sticks for about 3 seconds and then opens ?.. it never used to do this anyone know whats the problem i have ran a Spyware Scan

My Spec:

Intel Celeron M 1.67GHz
1GB DDR PC4400 RAM
256MB Video Ram
__________________

__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 01:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Start menu Sticks ?

Does it do this when you run another browser, such as FireFox or Opera? My guess is that you've downloaded a Windows or IE7 update that is mucking things up. I rarely use IE but nothing sticks for me.
People are probably going to give you a lot of crap for using IE7 and having a Celeron, too. But since this never used to happen it's probably not your processor's fault. This has got to be a software thing.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 03:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Re: Start menu Sticks ?

Yeahh it never happened when i had IE6 but when i downloaded the " New " internet explorer 7 it started sticking ill download a new browser when i get home

Thanks
__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 03:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default Re: Start menu Sticks ?

what is your delay set at?

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop > menushowdelay

the default is 400 i think, i usually set mine to about 50 or so.
ECTech is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 06:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Manipal,Karnataka,India
Posts: 3
Default Re: Start menu Sticks ?

I too had the same problem with IE7, not even me many of my friends had the same problem
One of my friend said that anybody should upgrade to IE7 only after they updated their windows completely with Windows Update,he did that and not facing any problem....
For me IE7 sucks....
manishtech is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 07:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Start menu Sticks ?

I use Firefox and also have I.E 7 installed and ive noticed sometimes i click the start bar and it doesnt pop up for about 2seconds or so, but it doesnt happen very often, most of the time its instant so i havent bothered about it.

P.s ive set my delay time to "1" lol
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 12:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
PeugeotEnthusiast
 
NayNay1991x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Leicester
Posts: 2,081
Send a message via MSN to NayNay1991x
Default Re: Start menu Sticks ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_uk View Post
I use Firefox and also have I.E 7 installed and ive noticed sometimes i click the start bar and it doesnt pop up for about 2seconds or so, but it doesnt happen very often, most of the time its instant so i havent bothered about it.

P.s ive set my delay time to "1" lol
Lmaoo you like it Fast at popping up dont you.. i think IE7 has bugged our pc's lool well for some of us
__________________

__________________
http://instagram.com/nay206pug#
NayNay1991x is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Start menu doesn't "remember" in Vista kfc469 Microsoft Windows and Software 9 06-11-2007 11:57 PM
trying to help my dad.. now i need help spacetiger HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 06-03-2007 02:44 PM
How to organize Start/Programs menu? mobkon Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-16-2007 12:18 PM
My new laptop won't start HELP! KingFisher9 Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-13-2007 05:21 PM
Unable to start windows??? trose Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-09-2007 09:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.