Start Menu Disappears? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2005, 03:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default Start Menu Disappears?

Hello,

Anyone know how to fix the problem when the left side of the Start Menu disappears in Windows XP? It totally blacks out. Along with this problem, submenus won't open automatically. The only way to fix it right now is to restart. Any ideas?

thanks,
Adam
__________________

afgoody is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 05:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

the only time i recall any place blacks out is when my computer is either dead slow or just froze and recovering.. prob tell us what program your running while it happenes? try working with a bit less program, or open one and close one, to see which on causes the problem?
__________________

__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 09:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Screen shot would be appropiate.

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 06:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I am attaching a screenshot.

Thanks,
Adam
Attached Images
File Type: jpg startmenudisappears.jpg (65.8 KB, 41 views)
afgoody is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 09:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Anyone?
afgoody is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 09:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

That happened to me when I installed a skin....do you have one installed?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 09:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Nope, no skin is installed
afgoody is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 04:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Anyone else?
afgoody is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 04:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

that happens on my parents AMD computer


is your computer an AMD?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 07:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

XP Repair install

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, read this Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.