standby problem in xp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2007, 05:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Unhappy standby problem in xp

config:
Asus M2N-MX motherboard
512MB DDR2 533MHz Transcend RAM
40 GB IDE HDD in which xp is installed.
AMD Athlon 3000+ (Socket AM2) Processor.


i have windows xp professional running in this system.

System is not going to standby mode if left unattended or even if i press standby some kind of colors r splashing in the monitor and the system hangs up.

I have installed all the chipset drivers that came with the motherboard.

i have even re-installed xp two times but the 'standby' problem persists.

Any help is welcome
__________________

ramesh is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: standby problem in xp

video card problem?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 02:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 79
Default Re: standby problem in xp

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
video card problem?
Possibly. Re-installing those drivers should be able to confirm or deny it. It may even be a corrupt system file. Try running scandisk and see what happens.
ZenOswyn is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 01:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Default Re: standby problem in xp

I dont have a separate video card installed in my system.
My mobo comes with NVIDIA GeForce 6100 nForce 430 video adapter.

i have reinstalled its drivers several times but no result.

even performed scandisk, but no corrupt files were found.

any other solution.
ramesh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Problem - Cannot get mp3 or wma files to play but wav files will play..read afulls04 Computer Audio and Multimedia 8 04-23-2007 04:57 AM
HDD problem I think? lee2001notts Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-13-2007 01:10 PM
Mysterious Sound Problem PartySized Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 04-13-2007 04:55 AM
XpertVision X850xt 256mb AGP huge problem n0va_ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 04-11-2007 09:57 PM
Hardware problem fufonzo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-09-2007 10:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.