Standby/Hibernate - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2003, 09:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361
Default Standby/Hibernate

Had a crash and had to re-install XP and IE6 with all their updates
and I have lost the facility to "enable Hibernate" in "Power" and I can't get Standby either. Anyone have a clue how to get these back. Someone suggested tapping spcebar on Shutdown but htis didn't help. Kindly advise.

D.Arbib is offline  
Old 02-09-2003, 06:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361

Thought for the day. Using Asus A7V333 with BIOS Rev 1015.
Power management is set to "User Defined" but where do I find Standby/Hibernate enable?

D.Arbib is offline  
Old 02-12-2003, 09:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default Have you this option?

Does it look something like this? Cause if not, your chipset MAY NOT support it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ie.jpg (22.3 KB, 8 views)
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 02-13-2003, 09:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361

No, unfortunately not. It did until I had a major crash and had to re-install XP pro and all its updates and then re-install much software. Curiously I'd also lost Standby, but this returned when I updated nVdia GeForce drivers. But still no "Hibernate"
D.Arbib is offline  
Old 02-13-2003, 04:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 361

By using config.sys I eventually found a program which caused my problem and "Hibernate" has been recovered. Thanks to those who tried to advise me.
D.Arbib is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.