Stand-by wakes up randomly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2005, 12:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Default Stand-by wakes up randomly

I can not get my computer to stand-by and stay there. My computer goes into stand-by but then wakes up whenever the **** it wants to. Sometimes it is only a few minutes long other times a half an hour. But it never stays in stand-by mode, always wakes up. I tried looking in the setting but there is no setting, I found as to how long it sleeps for. Any ideas?
__________________

wanghoeby is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Sounds like you have your NIC set to take it out of hibernation.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I had this happen on my old HP...it seems like it was a PSU issue.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Also, could be those magical computer fairies living in your machine... Call terminex : D
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 03:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Default

Okay, A, WTF is NIC, B, WTF is PSU, C, I ****ed the fairies so hard last week the never came back, so that's out.
wanghoeby is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 03:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

lol ok...
NIC = Network Interface Card.
- Its the card you plug your ethernet wire into...
PSU = Power Supply.
- kinda self explanitory.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 07:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Default

The NIC is part of my motherboard, where would I find this option on my computer? What would be wrong with my PSU?
wanghoeby is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 08:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Default

So, when I put my computer in standby and unplug the Ethernet cable, it stays asleep. Where is the NIC setting to change this from happening?
wanghoeby is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 12:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wanghoeby
The NIC is part of my motherboard, where would I find this option on my computer? What would be wrong with my PSU?
Its on your bios I beleive.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 09:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 41
Default

So it is my LAN connection being a ***** to me. If I unplug my ethernet cable the thing sleeps like a beauty. Only problem is that I turned off my LAN wake up option and all the options in BIOS to wake up, and its still flipping doing it. WTF.

I'm running out of ideas here. Should I try *** raping my network card or what?
__________________

wanghoeby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.