Stand-By or Hibernate ???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2007, 09:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Question Stand-By or Hibernate ????

I usually have about (20) or so Firefox Tabs open at any onetime doing research. I need to be able to access these tabs after my PC is turned back on.

Would it be better for me to use the Hibernate feature or the Stand-by feature ?

What's the advantages/disadvantages of each ?
__________________

Katmandu is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 09:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Stand-By or Hibernate ????

Hibernation would be better. It saves the desktop and whats open and shuts off the computer completely.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Katmandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Troy, Ohio
Posts: 224
Thumbs up Re: Stand-By or Hibernate ????

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Hibernation would be better. It saves the desktop and whats open and shuts off the computer completely.
Roger that Peter. :>)
Katmandu is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 11:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Stand-By or Hibernate ????

I just use stand-by since i dont have a hibernation option :P
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 04:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: Stand-By or Hibernate ????

^ When in the Shutdown screen press the Shift key, the Standby button will be replaced by the Hibernate button.
The standby option stores the computer "context" in RAM, so you need to keep the computer on. With Hibernate the computer "context" will be stored in the hard drive so you don't need to keep the computer on.

Regarding your firefox question just terminate the firefox with task manager, not closing it, and the next time you run firefox it will detect that the firefox hasn't been correctly closed and it will ask you if you want to restore the previous session.
It's a lamme answer but it works
farinha is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 05:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Stand-By or Hibernate ????

Ah nifty. But when i go into standby everything goes off on my machine.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-30-2007, 05:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Stand-By or Hibernate ????

I use Stand-By cause Hibernate uses some of your HDD space. That way what ever is stored in RAM can be put onto the HDD so that it saves the state when it comes out. So for me that would be 3GB of space lost to Hibernate.

I just make sure that i have saved my stuff before i go into standby. I can leave my browser on a specific page, leave files open. Just about anythign i could do with Hibernate with Standby and i dont have to wait that extra time when i come back.

Its all personal preference. Some like Hibernate, some like standby. Some like standby without turning off their hard drives like me. that way i can continue to download or defrag.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hibernate XP 06Skywalker Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-03-2007 01:21 PM
Where did the Hibernate Tab go ?? Katmandu Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-09-2007 02:19 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.