Spyware wont get removed!

Status
Not open for further replies.
fjf314 said:
I'm no expert when it comes to firewalls and the Internet, but this just does not sound right to me. My copy of XP comes with SP2, so I don't know by experience, but I don't think that just connecting to the Internet when you don't have a firewall is going to immediately lead to you getting viruses...

Regardless, like Warez said, those are just tracking cookies. Have you tried clearing Firefox's cookies through the browser itself or emptying out the folder they're stored in?

I was hoping someone would say this before me...thats all just a bunch of hype..Look at the Major, he is on xp sp1, I think or no sp's at all..dont beleive everything you hear, test it out for yourself.

"My copy of XP comes with SP2, so I don't know by experience, but I don't think that just connecting to the Internet when you don't have a firewall is going to immediately lead to you getting viruses..."

I do know from experience, and I've been over this before.

What firewall is Major using? My old disk did not come with sp2 & build in firewall, I can assure that in 2006 if you merely connect to the internet with a really old version of XP like I have then you will get infected VERY quickly.

I can assure you the first time I reformatted I connected to the internet without installing updates & sp2. I visited exactly 2 websites, windows update site & download.com to get avg, spybot, etc. One my very first scan I had quite a bit of malware on my system & wasn't even online for half an hour. So I reformated & didn't connect to the internet until installing windows updates I got from here http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/.

Next time you reformat first uninstall sp2, & the firewall and a few windows updates, wait 10 minutes or so & run some scanners & you will see that it is not hype.