Spyware wont get removed! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2006, 07:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 37
Default Spyware wont get removed!

Hey,

I have a current problem with my computer; I recently just formatted and re-installed windows due to too much spyware, everything seemed fine.

I downloaded Spyware: Search and Destroy, as well as Ad-Aware Personal.

I did a full system scan on each system, and it detected about 8-9 things, and i "fixed" them.

However, everytime i restart, they reappear... i dont know whats wrong.. i even started the computer in safemode and ran the scan

I dont even know where this spyware is coming from, but the main point is getting rid of it!!!!


Please help
__________________

Tolkien is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Default

What kind of PC is it, and what kind of Spyware is showing up? The reason I'm asking is because Dell PC's have been known to come with Spyware pre-installed on the computer. That's how they can sell them for so cheap because they make money from other companies by pre-installing trial software etc. I don't know if they still do it, but there was a time when brand new Dells come with Spyware already on it. And if you have one of these and are re-installing the OS from the Dell restore CD, then you are probably reinstalling the included Spywar as well. I would try a clean reinstall from an Actual Windows CD and not a restore CD from the manufacturer.
__________________

__________________
Joe
<a href=\"http://www.technogab.com\">Technogab Podcast</a>
<a href=\"http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=196334747\">Subscribe via Itunes</a>
<a href=\"http://feeds.feedburner.com/technogab/feed\"><img src=\"http://feeds.feedburner.com/technogab/feed.gif\" style=\"border:0\" alt=\"TechnoGab Podcast\"/></a>
technogab is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 07:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Download HiJackThis.

Post the log file it creates.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 07:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 37
Default

My PC is custom built;

Intel P(4) 3.20 GHz, 1.5GIG RAM, 160GIG HD, ATI Radeon 9800, Syncmaster 913v, ASROCK MB, then the usual cdrom/3.5'' drives + sd card drives and what not.

The spyware showing up:

Tolkien is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 07:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

I'm willing to bet when you reformatted you probably installed an older version of xp with no firewall and got infected the instant you connect online. This is why I burn a cd including service pack 2, other windows updates, zone alarm, avg 7.5, and firefox before reformatting.

When you reinstalled, did you fully update windows first thing? Do you have service pack 2? Which firewall are you using? Try testing your firewall here https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2

Are you using the latest version of IE?
macdawg is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 07:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 37
Default

I did install an older version, but I updated to SP2 right away. I do not use IE, I use firefox.

I heard zone-alarm both slows down and causes even more problems.. so i unno..

I just use the Windows Firewall, and I tested it on that site, everything is up to date, all ports in stealth and everything :\
Tolkien is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 07:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 37
Default

Hijack This log has been posted: http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=131336
Tolkien is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 10:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

those are just cookies, nothing to worry about
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 04:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

"I did install an older version, but I updated to SP2 right away."

did you install SP2 from a CD or online?

If you don't burn it to a CD and connect to the internet without it, your online without a firewall and going to get infected immediately, hopefully you burned it to a disk and installed sp2 before going online.

Use a site like this one http://www.ryanvm.net/msfn/ to burn SP2 & other important windows updates to a CD to install after you reformat BEFORE GOING ONLINE.
macdawg is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 10:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 150
Send a message via AIM to fjf314
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdawg
[BIf you don't burn it to a CD and connect to the internet without it, your online without a firewall and going to get infected immediately[/B]
I'm no expert when it comes to firewalls and the Internet, but this just does not sound right to me. My copy of XP comes with SP2, so I don't know by experience, but I don't think that just connecting to the Internet when you don't have a firewall is going to immediately lead to you getting viruses...

Regardless, like Warez said, those are just tracking cookies. Have you tried clearing Firefox's cookies through the browser itself or emptying out the folder they're stored in?
__________________

__________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who don\'t.
fjf314 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.