Spyware programs, - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2004, 02:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Question Spyware programs,

I have spybot SD and AVG antivirus on my PC, I just tried one of those "free" spyware scans and it says I have 12 infections but have to buy the download fo $40 to get rid of them. Are these things a con? My spybot never shows any and the AVG seems to be working on catching stuff also. Is it possible I still have 12 infections and spybot is not finding them our do these so called free scans just say this to get me to buy the thing. [edit] I just checked with spybot after checking with the free scan and it found spyware that was not there before so I assume this "free" scan put something on. Tom
__________________

__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 06:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default

Hi, I scanned PC again with a different program and it found some stuff, I got rid of it all eccept for a W32/noala.b @ lvHKEY_local_machine/software/mregvalue. I updated my AVG but it won't detect it. I can't find any information on this. I also looked on the norton site for info on it and can't find anything there either. Is it a new one? Tom
__________________

__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 07:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default

Thanks much,
__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 09:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

you can always perform a torough virus scan online by clicking on the link in my sig too.
ADZ is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 05:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default

Hi ADZ, I ran a scan from your site and it says my PC is clean so that W32/noala.b must not really be on it. Thanks alot, Tom
__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.