SpyWare/Adware Keeps coming back! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2004, 01:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Angry SpyWare/Adware Keeps coming back!

A friend of mine who I THOUGHT knew about Adware and Spyware sent me a link. I clicked it, and now I'm infected (I have a link in my AIM profile, that's how I know I'm infected).

Here's where it get's to be a pain in the ***. I use Webroots Spysweeper (Adaware will NOT run on my computer for some stupid reason. I've installed and reinstalled it about half a dozen times, and it just will NOT run). When I run spyweeper, it takes care of everything, but when I restart my computer the f'ing link comes back to my AIM profile. Is there ANYTHING that I can do besides formatting? I just got everything on my computer patched and updated from a recent format, and I don't want to format it again. Please help!!
__________________

Total Immortal is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Have you tried uninstalling AIM (removing all AIM registry settings and AIM folders), getting rid of the worm with spyweeper and then rebooting? After you reboot, run it again and see if it's back. If not, re-install AIM and you should be good to go.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default

hey mike,
I just tried that, and I'm running spy sweeper as I type this out. It looks as if the spyware is still on here : ( It goes by the name of "Alexa Toolbar" and "Atwola Cookie" AIM is still uninstalled. What now?

I've got them in my "quarantine" folder. I've been routinely deleting them.. I can't imagine quarantining would do any good... F&*#
Total Immortal is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Terminate it under the msconfig program, it won't start up at the beginning.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 09:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kangaroo
Terminate it under the msconfig program, it won't start up at the beginning.
Can you explain further? I don't know how to do that
Total Immortal is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 09:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9
Default

To access 'MSconfig', click Start > Run > type 'msconfig' (minus the quotation marks), then under the Start Up tab, uncheck the box corresponding with Alexa...

...least I think that's what Kangaroo was saying...
xxDavidianxx is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 09:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Default

Well, I did that but I can't find anything that has those file names in them. I guess I'll reinstall AIM and see how it goes.
Total Immortal is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 11:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

do as placebo says to do. he doesn't have "remove spyware" flashing for nothing!!! It removed all traces of spyware/adware that even Spysweeper didn't/couldn't find which I use also. 2 bad AdAware doesn't work cuz I like that also, seems to really nix the crap that tries to plant itself there.
jaksback is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 10:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via ICQ to Total Immortal
Talking

Awesome thanks for the help you guys. AIM now appears to be spyware free, and I just installed bazooka and it found two things that Spysweeper didn't. Sweet!
Total Immortal is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 06:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

itmay have some components remaining that will contact its host and reinstall check out this spyware site. www.doxdesk.com
__________________

__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.