spyware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2005, 01:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 521
Default spyware

Hi

I'm having some spyware problems again. My computer was relatively safe until I tried installing Torrent Search. I figured it was safe because there was a link to it on the PC World site, but wow, its really added a lotta spyware here.

Anyway, now out of nowhere an IE window often pops up and goes to this website:

http://www5.paypopup.com/adsDirect.p...ampaign=&rurl=

I dont check the URL each time, so I DO know the first part is correct,
ie http://www5.paypopup.com, but the rest I'm not, though I'm guessing it must be.

I have a ton of anti-spyware programs on my computer which have kept it clean for the past few months. They are:
Ad-aware, Spykiller, Spy Sweeper, Spyware Doctor, Spyware Blaster, Spybot Seach and Destory.

Yet this window keeps popping up. Can anyone advise?

Thanks
Dan
__________________

__________________
***************************

You want the best? Here I am
bigdan is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 01:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I would set your popup blocker to block all popups.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 01:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 521
Default

I dont think that would do it, because its not just a pop-up but a whole new window with a web address and everything. Would it still be a pop-up issue?
__________________
***************************

You want the best? Here I am
bigdan is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 521
Default

whoops, I just saw, my popup blocker IS in effect. I use firefox and its blocked there, but they open in IE. any connection?
__________________
***************************

You want the best? Here I am
bigdan is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 02:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

It could be a activeX thing. Try downloading Microsoft Antispyware Beta.
In the advanced options you can view your activeX controls that are installed and it gives info on all of them and tells you which ones microsoft as determined to be safe. If you see any that you don't recognize and aren't approved by Microsoft then disable them. And use spywareblaster to block them as well.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 12:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Try this out.


http://www.scanspyware.net/info/TorrentSearch.htm
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 07:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

It could be adware..
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.