Spontaneous reboots and other problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2006, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153
Default Spontaneous reboots and other problems

I've been having this strange problem.
My computer is about 6-7 years old and I probably have a Pentium III. I don't really know my hardware specs.

Anyway, what happens is that recently, my PC has been rebooting out of nowhere so I have decided to format.

Now, the PC locks up during the Windows XP Boot Screen (the one where you see the logo and the blue bar underneath it running).

Sometimes it doesn't even get to that part, and automatically sends me to my BIOS for me to change my CPU speed.

This is really weird and I really need to use my PC. Can someone help?
Thanks ^^

crazlunatic is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 24

Get your hard drive checked. After my hard drive started fritzing I tried reformating only to have a bunch of errors and freakish problems come up. Only to find out later that it was on its death bed and long from being saved.

DeathGod is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 12:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153

From experience, I know this must be a hardware problem.

I'm now almost certain it's probably CPU, or hard drive. So I guess I should just get a new PC?
crazlunatic is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 01:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159

I vote on getting a working hard drive, and swaping it with your current one.
Danks is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 06:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 157

Sounds like a heating issue, especially since it is taking you in to the BIOS to check yoru CPU speed. Try adding another case fan.
Eagles can soar but weasles don\'t get sucked in to jet engines
RyanS is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 06:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258

one thing you can try is using a different HAL for the machine during install. It's possible that the install is not working cause of the HAL it's using. To do this, press F5 when you see the "Press F6 to install 3rd part drivers" message. Select the Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) PC HAL, and try installing that way.

There are a couple things that could be going wrong.
1. HDD. do you hear any kind of clicking or screeching coming from the machine?
2. PSU. These can go bad due to dust, but also due to time of use.
3. Memory. Dust can short the circuts on the boards, as well as heat over time can cause expansion that will break connections.
4 Dust. Look in the tower at the amount of dust in the case. Blow it out, outside with some canned air. You can use an air compressor, but you need to turn down the preasure on it to less than 15psi

Good luck

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.