Speed up my Dial-up! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2003, 06:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

get cable!!
nah, maybe if the line signal is weak the line might not have a good conductor or something (might not be copper)
what is the name of your Modem?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 06:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

No word back from Neongirl?
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-09-2003, 04:21 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

just wait
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 11:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20
Default

LoL Sorry for not responding in a timely manner...my pc is still slow..I am not sure wether my line is copper of not..My computer is not full or anything I have like 75 percent free space on my drives. I had a line ran directly to my computer and it's still the same thing. I have kinda gotten used to it but I would like to do better. My mom lives next door and her computer is 2 x faster than mine.

thanks
95neongirl is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 01:29 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 45
Default

Crashabbot is right you can change the modem strings to run at a higher rate but you must test this sometimes it won't connect what happens is when you want to connect there is what is called a three way handshake your computer says hey I want to open connection it does this by using SYN or synchonize then the other computer the one you are connecting to says ok or ACK for acknoledge then SYN if this SYN can't match because of problems from one or the other computer it won't connect at that speed and if you tell it to it won't connect at all the last thing your computer does is ACK to the other then the connection is open. Changing the modem strings would get you a better connection but it would probably be only like 3k better.
DB_13 is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 01:41 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 172
Default

MB was on the right track with the maxing out of the modem ,, although,, I was under the teaching that 119500 was ok to set it too as well as that would be the "ceiling" of the connection , leaving it wide open to that point,, however, as we know you will never connect with dialup at that speed ,, as we know it,, it allows for a lot of "headroom"




That setting is for how fast the com port talks to the modem. The faster you set it the more chance for errors. It's like talking real fast to somebody. They might not catch everything your saying. Set it at 57600 for a more reliable and stable connection. Also it might be the modem itself. Some modems just run better than others. If you using a winmodem (controlerless) get rid of it. These modems are based on software and usually don't run as expected. If your going to stick with dialup, go for the best modem on the market. I would suggest the US Robotics 56k sportster or the 56k PCI PRO both are controler based (the modem does all the work) good reliable modems. But you problem sound like it might be in your phone lines. I was in your situation. The guy next door to me was getting better speed than me. Turned out it was a problem with the switching box mounted to my house.
__________________

heavywx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.