Speech recognition in Windows Vista! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2007, 03:44 PM   #21 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

it won't work. I've been trying for years with programs like these. it doesn't work to well with african american males who live in the hood. it works fine for my wife (who btw doesn't sound like an african american female, even though she is. most people who talk to her on the phone thinks that she is white).

me and my friends use to play with MS word and the dragon natural speaking programs and they don't understand us either. we do talk slow and clear into the mike. it will understand a few words, but not most.

last night, none of us could get the machine to understand the word "period" (including my wife). I don't know why
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 05:08 PM   #22 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

Remember, the program is programmed for 1 persons voice. You can create multiple profiles, my younger sister tried to use it and no words came out at all correct for her. Why? Because its trying to read my voice; the sound waves from my voice are much different from hers so it could not understand any of it. You can create multiple profiles in options. Hence why it didnt even work for your wife
__________________

__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 05:37 PM   #23 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Slam'n Systems
Remember, the program is programmed for 1 persons voice. You can create multiple profiles, my younger sister tried to use it and no words came out at all correct for her. Why? Because its trying to read my voice; the sound waves from my voice are much different from hers so it could not understand any of it. You can create multiple profiles in options. Hence why it didnt even work for your wife
I know that, but it still doesn't change anything. we can set it up for her, but we can't set it up for me. I'm the one that want to use it. I'm a horrible typer. I want to use speech dictation
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 05:48 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

dragon naturally speaking... 10x better IMO
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 02:22 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Slam'n Systems
Works fine for me. :-) It is really interesting and is now how I talk to all my friends online (Instant Messanger)
What instant messenger, works with speech recognition, because I tried windows live messenger with speech recognition and it didn't work.

Tim
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 06:51 AM   #26 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

So far I know that AOL Instant Messanger and XFIRE (Gaming Instant Messanger) work
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:05 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Well all you have to do is have the cursor in the text box and you can speak, then it will type it in.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 11:25 AM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

Doesn't work with windows messenger ... But I will download AOL messenger instead.
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.