Speech recognition in Windows Vista! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2007, 12:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default Speech recognition in Windows Vista!

Hello,

I have been using Windows vista's speech recognition software and I have to say, it works very well.

I have navigated to this website, and I am dictating this post using our Windows Vista speech recognition!

Has anybody else use this?

Tim
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 12:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

yeah i used this for a bit a few weeks ago and was quite impresed with it. One thing that annoyed me was when saying "start...all programs" it would search "all programs" instead of navigating to the installed programs. Everything else i thought was very smart
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

Yes, but it is a little bit slower than using keyboard and mouse! But I'm sure that it will speed up as a gain confidence...

Again and dictating this message and talking fluently and there are very few errors.

Windows Vista speech recognition is better than any other speech recognition program I have used.

Tim
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 09:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

I just turned it on after I read this post and went through the tutorial. Does it really learn from its mistakes? lol, its pretty neat..no more typing essays haha
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 11:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

where is this feature located in vista?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 11:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
korky122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to korky122
Default

go to control panel and switch to classic view and its on the left side i believe.
__________________
Core 2 Quad @ 2.5ghz (slacr)
3 gigs corsair xms2 ram
8800 gt 512 mb superclocked
Windows Vista
korky122 is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 12:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

this is ghey. I had to stop before I threw the computer out of the window. I want to sue MS. Bill gates need to put people in the hood for Ebonics dictation
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 10:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

It is pretty interesting, in fact my post right now is using the program. Although it is quite slow to do I find that using this is pretty fun when I am really bored.
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 11:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

I don't find it slow at all really, once you train it to recognise your voice it is really quite easy to use.

When I use it it hardly makes any mistakes, you just have to configure it correctly.

Do you know if it works with firefox, it's driving me mad working with Internet explorer!

I would highly recommend using voice recognition.

Have fun

Tim
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 03-04-2007, 11:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by timblanchard
I don't find it slow at all really, once you train it to recognise your voice it is really quite easy to use.

When I use it it hardly makes any mistakes, you just have to configure it correctly.

Do you know if it works with firefox, it's driving me mad working with Internet explorer!

I would highly recommend using voice recognition.

Have fun

Tim
Do you just constantly goto Train Speech Recognition and keep doing it? Sometimes it has trouble understanding when I say "Show Numbers"
__________________

__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.