SP2's Windows updates & security risk - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2006, 10:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sevenor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 243
Thumbs down SP2's Windows updates & security risk

Someone mentioned in another thread that you can use SP2 without Wdws updates. Won't their comps face security risks if they do that?
__________________

Sevenor is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

thats how blaster and sasser spread so fast. both had patches that would avoid these viruses from infecting machines.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

are you talking about just using sp2 without the updates after sp2?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

im saying use of automatic updates could have prevented them.


three basics to a secure windows install

auto updates
antivirus protection
firewall


.....spyware scanners are a good idea too
office politics is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sevenor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 243
Default

What if they had anti-virus software installed and firewall on, won't that take care of those virus?
Sevenor is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 10:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

blaster and sasser exploited services that were turned on by default in windows. you did not need to download anything to get infected. instead it hunted you down and crapped all over your system.

my systems were patched before they hit. all the computer security news pages were publishing articals about how the exploits were found and the damage they could do....and BAM!!! Epidemic.
office politics is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 11:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Sevenor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 243
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
are you talking about just using sp2 without the updates after sp2?

Yes. Just the SP2 and the antivirus (and without the updates).
Will it not do? Not even if they scan their comps with the antivirus software regularly?
Sevenor is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 11:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

sasser and blaster wouldn't have affect your computer if you had your antivirus bootsector enabled on your mobo. most mobo's have this feature. it is turn off by default
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.