SP2 for Windows XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2004, 12:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 398
Default SP2 for Windows XP

http://zdnet.com.com/2100-1104_2-5311280.html

according to the article above, over 50 programs will be affected because SP2 automatically turns on the Windows firewall.

can't we just turn it off again? or is it on all the time and we just open/close ports? does anybody have any experiences with SP2?
__________________

__________________

kostas is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 195
Default

I'm not sure either.
All I read was everyone who has "auto update" enabled will try to download this SP automatically. It's what, 200 meg? Quite a nuisance for those with dialup. Instead of MS making a change, they want us to disable auto update. Not a problem for me and other knowledgable users, but what about the "other" users?
__________________

__________________
*\'Failure\' is not a four-letter word.
star_topology is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

I downloaded it, but I have been reading the horror stories of all the problems with it. My first hand experience @ work is that it slows machines down moreso than what they are now (2.4 gig Celerons [compaq - duh] )

oh no - not UT2003!
ADZ is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 12:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

The SP2 firewall isn't very friendly. You can config it a bit (it gives you a list of programs it's blocking and options to unblock them) but the basic options are either on or off.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 12:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

I don't download any updates unless i really need them, or i know they aren't buggy. The sp1 was just like sp2 now when it came out, but as time goes, microsoft fixes these little things with critical updates. I wouldnt download it yet. Give it a lil time, plus if your comp is working fine, then y bother downloading 200 mb?
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.