SP2 Will not uninstall - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2005, 01:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default SP2 Will not uninstall

I installed SP2 on XP Pro a few months back. It has been giving me fits with 2 of the main programs that I use, and I'm ready to go back to the way it was before. However, I go to add/remove programs and click Service Pack 2 and uninstall and it tells me that "Uninstall could not find the SPUNINST.INF file." I can't uninstall any of the ways Microsoft suggests. I haven't tried system recovery, but there is a lot of stuff that I don't want to lose if it goes back to how it was months ago. I tried reinstalling SP 2, but it said it was installed and that I didn't need it. Can anyone give me some help?
__________________

blazer003 is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 01:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

1. What "fits" exactly are you getting?

2. A service pack is a complete patch for the entire OS with fundamental changes. They're not easy to remove, not often removable at all, and leave messes behind if you succeed. Your best bet if you really want to remove it (for whatever reason) is to reinstall Windows and upgrade to SP1 if you can find an SP1 upgrade.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Here it is:

How to uninstall XP SP2
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 03:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Warez Monster: Tried those, both of the first two give me that same message, and I was hoping there was a way to get that file I'm missing, but I suppose it's probably computer specific.

Snoobie Rat: My video editing program, Liquid Edition, will only capture for for a short time before saying there was a communication error with the camera. The tech support guys for Pinnacle said to simply remove SP 2, because it closes some communication ports that the camera needs, but I go to uninstall, and it says there's a file missing.
blazer003 is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

You should check the Microsoft website for documentation and find the needed ports. If SP2 closed the ports, just open them back up again.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.