SP2 and tool bar window functions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2006, 11:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Default SP2 and tool bar window functions

Just had new Dell Dimension 9150s arrive at the office - come preinstalled with Windows Pro with SP2.

Have turned off pop-up blocker to allow the function of the SBC web tool bar which is a telecomminications company system. The new windows are appearing, the information is in the windows but there are no scroll bars on the windows to allow full viewing of the information.

Pre SP2 machines have no problem, the scroll bars allowing full access to all info are there and working.

Uninstalling SP2 not an option - has anyone any ideas?

Thanks
__________________

spectra is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

have you tried alternative web browsers?

i recommend Mozilla Firefox. Google it.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 11:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Just tried Firefox and it's not even letting me get into the toolbar itself. SBC state IE as the required browser for this.
spectra is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Turn off the Windows Firewall and use ZoneAlarm or another firewall. That could be your problem. The Windows Firewall might not be allowing the application to access the web.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 02:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

quote: (Uninstalling SP2 not an option - has anyone any ideas?)

install xp pro sp1
derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.