SP2 problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2007, 10:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default SP2 problem

Hi,

I was installing SP on my mothers comp so she could use a newer version of office and ran into a bit of trouble. The installation went great until I rebooted the system. It now loads nothing but a black screan with a mouse curser. It shows no boot sequence or anything when turned on, just sits for about a mintue then a curser appears and nothing happens.

I attempted to use the system recovery disc provided when she bought her computer, but instead of booting into the recovery menu as usual it just cuts to the same black screan.

Anyone able to offer some insight into this?
__________________

pyth is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Can you get into safe mode?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I cannot, it gives me no chance to innterupt the boot sequence at all. Just a black screan after power is turned in, then within about a minute a curser will appear. It does hit the HD and spin up discs during this time. Just doesn't seem to do anything.
pyth is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

So you turn the power on and the screen stays black? You dont see the POST screen or the XP load screen?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 12:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

That is correct, no post screen or Windows XP screen. Just solid black for about 1 minute, then a curser pops up.
pyth is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 10:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Default

bump
pyth is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 01:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Boot with the XP CD and try to repair your install.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 01:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do you have a regular xp disk so you can run a repair?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.