sp2 or no sp2 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
View Poll Results: Do you want a Tech Fourms IRC chat?
Yes 8 80.00%
No 2 20.00%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2005, 06:18 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady

Some people are confusing M$'s reissuing of XP with SP2 included as XP2. That's all it is.

Most people in the tech half of the house refer to it as XPSP2, LOL. I refer to mine as XPProSP2. Liz

<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 08:49 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

I have XP SP2 on 4 PC's and it works great on all of em

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 09:42 AM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
synergy's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy

Originally posted by Warez Monster
only if your pc is slow, as is processor slow, and low on memory....I've seen this a few times, pc runs fine untill I install sp2, then it slows it down
I have it on an old Celeron 533 and it runs great...however I tried running the beta on it when it was available and I had to end up reformatting it. Since the final release it's worked great.

As far as Windows security vulnerabilities go I don't feel safe w/out installing their security updates.
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 10:26 AM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778

Ill tell you abot my experiences with SP2. i installed it on my desktop computer, and i got a DrWatson Prosternom Debugger or whtever its called. Whenever i right click, i would get an error message and i cant right click. i go on the mircosoft website find the solution, now i odnt get the error but i still get windows error. I removed SP2, reinstalled it, same problem, removed it, reinstalled it, and finally i dont get the problem anymore. ON my laptop I had SP2 and there were more problems tha just that, so i removed it and i stick with SP1 for my laptop.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 11:36 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291

Originally posted by southernlady
Some people are confusing M$'s reissuing of XP with SP2 included as XP2. That's all it is.

Most people in the tech half of the house refer to it as XPSP2, LOL. I refer to mine as XPProSP2. Liz

Ok thankz
Simon is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:20 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363

Microsoft reccomends that you should install it. But, like others have said, it WILL slow your system down. Internet speeds are going to decrease dramaticlly and if you use a P2P File Sharing Program, you will have horrible speed. There are some patches for some File sharing prgrams, that will speed it up and tweaks. If I were you, I would install it. ( Yes i know, you will have to sacrifice some speed)

Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 04:27 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod

P2P networks suffer drastically. I know that Warez has a patch for sp2 but I got tired of the slowness so I just went back to sp1. But as far as security is concerned, sp2 is alot better than sp1 and all of the updates that are going to be coming out will soley be for sp2. So it just really depends on what you are wanting to do.
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:30 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 248
Send a message via ICQ to shuaibao Send a message via AIM to shuaibao Send a message via Yahoo to shuaibao

Originally posted by ZeroX
you might as well microsoft is going to force it on you very soon.
Too late.
I have ADD that stands for Attention Defecit hey look a birdie!

<a href=\"http://www.shuaiking.org/\">www.shuaiking.org: my blog</a>
shuaibao is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:35 PM   #29 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher

I also have this installed with no problems. I have also had no networking issues even with the firewall turned on. I use heavy network applications to dial into work (VPN, AS400, TELNET etc etc) so long as you have the correct port settings in the exceptions tab you shouldnt encounter any problems. If anybody ever needs help configuring Cisco's VPN client with service pack 2 feel free to PM me for instructions.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:35 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 34

sp2 is great, if you do install it use fresh install, or else i found it dont work so great.

staincafe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.