SP2 installed but browser no go?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2005, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 121
Default SP2 installed but browser no go??

My brother recently had a problem where all his harddrives failed at once apparently and I gave him a new 160 gig drive. He had to install windows XP pro again and when he did this everything appeared fine besides the fact his mobo nic wasn't detected so I gave him one of my NIC cards. It worked after he installed drivers but on to the real problem now. His internet worked fine until he installed service pack 2. When this happened his internet explorer would constantly show loading and show an IP at the bottom of his browser. Well known sites would apparently try with .net and .org. We reinstalled windows XP and it worked fine but SP2 keeps causing these issues. Not sure what to do any suggestions? Oh his AIM apparently works fine.
__________________

PILMAN is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 09:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 121
Default

Also tried mozilla and firefox no go either.
__________________

PILMAN is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 09:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

When you reinstalled XP, did you do the drivers first (like last time) or SP2 first? Can you ping these addresses?
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 10:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 121
Default

Yes there pingable.
PILMAN is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 10:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

What order did you install SP2 and the drivers in?
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 12:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 121
Default

He says he installed the Video Drivers, the sound drivers, then did the updates. He also said his internet goes down randomly yet he can traceroute sites though he can't get to them randomly with internet explorer or firefox.
__________________

PILMAN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.