Sound Issue. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2005, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to ProLooter Send a message via Yahoo to ProLooter
Default Sound Issue.

I cant hear sound ever since I made my computer load basic devices and drives (msconfig). The only thing I would like to know is what is the service or driver for sound and what do I do to turn it back on. It seems that in shutting down all the useless devices adn drviers on my comp I shut down sound and how can you play any game without sound. Please help.
__________________

ProLooter is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 08:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

goto control panel | Sounds & Audio devices. click the Audio tab and tell me what you have Sound playback set to.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 08:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to ProLooter Send a message via Yahoo to ProLooter
Default

It says No Playback devices.
ProLooter is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 08:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 79
Default

Sounds like you've disabled the sound device. I believe csamuels is going to point you in the right direction to address the issue. I've done this same thing before myself.
__________________
I\'m already visualizing the duct tape over your mouth...
Beyeohazard is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 10:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to ProLooter Send a message via Yahoo to ProLooter
Default

How woud I go about enabling the sound device?
ProLooter is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 11:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Right Click on My Computer>Properties>Hardware Tab>Device Manager.

What does it say for sound device? Does it have a ! or ? there If so your drivers are not installed correctly and wont work. Need to re-install them.
If they are installed correctly go the the destination that csamules gave you and look thru there make sure everything is correct.
If that still dont work try Start>Run>dxdiag and see what that tells you. It is about DirectX but you can test your sound there.
That is about all i can think of to get your sound working. Try some of that and see if anything works.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to ProLooter Send a message via Yahoo to ProLooter
Default

When I go to device manager nothing is there and I gave it ample time to load. When I run the direct x thing ti wont let me test to see if there is sound or not.
ProLooter is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 08:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Okay you dont have sound drivers installed or they are not installed correctly. I see you messed with msconfig. If you remember what you did just undo it thru msconfig. I would only recommed stopping the service and drivers you dont need. To know which ones are which google them.
If that doesnt work you have to reinstall you sound drivers. Go to the manufactorer site and download them to install.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 06:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to ProLooter Send a message via Yahoo to ProLooter
Default

How do I know what my manufacturers site is and how would I know my sound card model?
ProLooter is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 07:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Is it onboard sound? If so you can go to the PC makers website and look thru the online manual to see what the sound device is that you have installed.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.