sorry - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2004, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 9
Angry win 98 COA

I just tried to reinstall win98 (the disk that came with the system) on our older computer and now its asking for the sertificate of authenticity # which I can't find! (who hangs on to that stuff for 5 years?) any tips besides "get a new computer"
__________________

snlporter is offline  
Old 01-25-2004, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 9
Default sorry

just trying for some help. If I were going to steal a OS it wouldn't be win98
__________________

snlporter is offline  
Old 01-25-2004, 10:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Maybe you could call MS, and explain it to them. They might have a work-around solution for you.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 03:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204
Default

If its a branded computer like HP or Dell and if windows 98 came preinstalled, call the tech support. Dont know about Dell but HP provided COA key if u loose it.
__________________
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 08:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

Call M$ alternatively, pick up windows XP.
ADZ is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 08:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204
Default

That definitely is the best option. Get XP.
__________________
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 12:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

no if his computer originally came with win98 using winXP i would assume he has old slow computer. massive slowdown, and winxp is a waste of money on an old slow machine.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 01:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to Mandakay Send a message via AIM to Mandakay Send a message via Yahoo to Mandakay
Default

If it's an old computer, I wouldn't recommend going to XP. You might come across a ton of problems with hardware not being compatible. I had hardware that was only 2 yrs old that wouldn't work with XP. Gotta love MS.

Calling MS might work, but I have always doubted MS when it comes to helping people with any type of problem. Maybe see if someone you know has an old certificate number you can use? I would offer you my old one but I don't have that stuff anymore.
Mandakay is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 02:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

I think it's against house rules to give up that info maybe one of the Mod's could let us know
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 08:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Replacing the OS with XP is not the best opinion. No one has even asked what kind of hardware is involved?!? Also, if someone wants to share a COA or a serial.....that's beyond our control, but it shouldn't happen as a post on this site.
***snlporter***
My advise is to contact HP or MS. Your account info or the serial number on the PC should be enough. Do you still have anything on the PC that would deem it unique?

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.