something strange - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2005, 12:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ox
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48
Unhappy something strange

okay... a fairly long time ago i was messing around with some themes, icons etc to give windows a new look. i was going to put in new icons for all the folders and drives etc. but the icon set i liked had no installer
So i had to do it manually i did it through the folder options, file types thing as the readme said. however i think i messed something up because ever since, (even after resetting all the icons and stuff) everytime i open a folder or drive it goes into a new window and before long you have 356834176 windows open.. it sucks and im considering a format to fix it. ive looked around in that options thing a damn lot and on all the folders and drives the little tick box that says "open in the same window" is greyed out and i cant do anything about it. please help..

its on windows xp pro.
__________________

__________________
Asus A7N8X-X
AMD xp2500+
pc2700 512mb (OEM)
GeXCube Radeon 9600XT Game Buster

3890 on 3D mark03
28,574 on AquaMark03
Ox is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 10:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 229
Send a message via Yahoo to psman
Default

it just looks like some kind of fun virus....
i dont think your folder option have to do somthing with that
any way try looking for the option that says "open each folder in new window from folder option and disable it if enabled
__________________

__________________
You... Went Beyond
You lost it all.
Why did you go there
psman is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 11:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

ROFL, man that's funny! LOL

Shame on you for changing your icons! Don't you know everyone likes the Microsoft default icons??? (JK, LOL)

I'd be curious to see what kind of stuff you copied from this supposed icon file. If it was just plain icon files, you should have run into no problems.

One thing you might try is running a registry cleaner through your system. I have a feeling that part of the problem may be that a registry value got screwed up somehow.

If that doesn't work, try a system restore.

If that doesn't work, shoot it.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 11:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Lol, thats funny. I would reload it.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 04:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ox
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48
Default

Im pretty good about keeping my system clean, i clean the reg, check for viruses, kill spy/ad ware, etc once a week.
and ive had this problem for months now

hell... if i had a gun i probably would shoot it.
__________________
Asus A7N8X-X
AMD xp2500+
pc2700 512mb (OEM)
GeXCube Radeon 9600XT Game Buster

3890 on 3D mark03
28,574 on AquaMark03
Ox is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 04:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Wait wait wait...hang on hang on hang on hang on hang on...

...

You've had this problem for MONTHS???

Dude...it's time to skip the machine and think about that bullet making love to your ceribrum. That's crazy. Nuts. I would have vaporized that box, at most, two weeks after finding the problem.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 10:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ox
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48
Default

yeah... but i havent really been using it, i just remembered the problem now that im using it again.

but anyway, looks like a format is on the menu...
__________________
Asus A7N8X-X
AMD xp2500+
pc2700 512mb (OEM)
GeXCube Radeon 9600XT Game Buster

3890 on 3D mark03
28,574 on AquaMark03
Ox is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 03:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

once i screwed around with my theme, i changed it to some theme that has been corrupted and it turned half of the gui to black and i could hardly navigate. I spent a hour trying randomly clicking to get into propeties and theme options.

But its fixed now :-)

Wayne
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-22-2005, 08:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

I had the same kind of problem with my girlfriend. I kept trying to right-click and access her properties...

...I'm okay now.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.