Some Vista Business questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2008, 11:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 125
Default Some Vista Business questions

Hey everyone, I just have a few questions. I am currently downloading Windows Vista Business Edition, which I can get for free because I am a CS major at my university, so it is legal, no worries there.

Ok so first thing, is Business edition bad for any reason? I mean I mostly play games and dont want it messing that up...

Second, will installing Vista require me to format/reinstall everything, or will I still be able to keep all my files on my hard drive?

Third, I have a 500gb harddrive, but I installed XP fresh from no SP, so it is only recognized as 127gb, which is apparently a known problem. Will upgrading to Vista from XP fix that, or will I have to format and fresh install to fix it?
__________________

Seraph is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 12:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Some Vista Business questions

Why would it be bad? I don't think Business if bad, it just has extra features compared to Home.

You can upgrade but it is best to just back up and reinstall Windows, this will result in a faster computer.

Upgrading to Vista should fix the problem. As stated above, you can upgrade or install new.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 01:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Some Vista Business questions

Okay let me answer these in order.

1. Business Edition is not bad for any reason. It is just geared toward businesses not casual users. You can still install games and run everything as if it was Home Premium or Ultimate edition. Just some functions in those editions are missing. Media Center being the biggest.

2. If you dual boot no. But at the same time you will be required to install the applications you want to use under Vista. You can not run the applications from the XP Partition under Vista. Some may work. Most wont. So you will have to reinstall yoru software under Vista to have it work properly.

3. Install XP SP2 and the drive will be fully recognized. Upgrade it to SP3 to be fully up to date. That is the best recommendation. As fo right now you are missing a big chunck of you drive for no reason.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 02:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 125
Default Re: Some Vista Business questions

ok thanks everyone, I guess I will just backup my files and do a clean install.
Seraph is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 03:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Some Vista Business questions

Does that Mean Business has DX10 support?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 03:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Some Vista Business questions

All Vista have dx10, no?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 03:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Some Vista Business questions

Idk thats why I asked

but I guess it does?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 03:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Some Vista Business questions

Yea, I guess too. Just like all XP have dx9?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 03:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Some Vista Business questions

I guess I was thinking that way because Business was aimed at the Business group, but so was XP Professional and most gamers like it better than Home
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 05:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Some Vista Business questions

Yes all version of Vista have DX10 support. Be it Basic or Ultimate.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
Vista -> XP pc_boy Microsoft Windows and Software 47 10-08-2007 10:07 PM
Xp to Vista Business Issues' dykzeulb Microsoft Windows and Software 10 09-15-2007 11:46 PM
Network questions Vista laptop Shane12m Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-14-2007 03:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.