some help please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2005, 05:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 180
Default some help please

hey guys when i go into my task manager and have a look at the cpu usage. the cpu usage is shown in green but then there is also a red bar that gos over the green what is this?

also i keep getting told my windows page file memory is to low what does this mean?
__________________

psydesign is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 05:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

The red you see is kernel usage. It's showing how much of the CPU is being used to run the core of the operating system. You can turn that off by clicking view and unticking "show kernel times". Here is a site that explains all about Task Manager.

Effective Use of Task Manager

Windows Page File is "virtual ram". Your PC will set aside a certain amount of hard drive space to use as "virtual memory". It runs much slower then physical RAM. The general rule of thumb is to set it to 1.5 X the amount of physical RAM you have. So 1 gig of ram you would set your page file to 1500 megs or so.

You set your page file by
>> right click my computer
>> choose properties
>> advanced, look under performance
>> settings
>> advanced
>> virtual memory
>> change

If you have a relatively low amount of physical RAM to begin with your best option would be to install more RAM. As stated earlier, virtual RAM is much slower then physical RAM.
__________________

tribalsun is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 05:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 180
Default

thanks for the reply so if my cpu is running at 44% and my kernal is running at 33% is that ok?
psydesign is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 05:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Your quite welcome. Depending on what your doing at the time I would say your fine. CPU usage can jump and spike from the tiniest of things. Unless your experiencing crashes or freezes on a regular basis you should be ok.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 05:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I set mine at the max, which is 4096mb.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 06:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

I used too, now I set it to system manage which does fine. I wanted that extra gig.
tribalsun is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 06:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Can you tell the difference between system managed and max?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 06:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 432
Default

I haven't noticed any performance loss if that's what you mean. Curiously enough, with system manage it set it just over 1.5 X, I'm at 1535 and it's fine.
__________________

tribalsun is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.