Software Problem or Hardware Problem or Both?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2005, 11:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default Software Problem or Hardware Problem or Both??

For reference, I have a Dell Dimension 4400. Yesterday, I was working in Microsoft Word. I was saving to the A drive on a 3.5" floppy. After about 2 hours of work, I got an error message saying that Windows Explorer had to shut down and restart. It automatically did this and successfully rebooted Windows. All of my initial applications loaded fine. After about a minute, Windows gave me a message saying that the system has recovered from a serious error. Apparently, there was a problem with the explorer.exe in the Temp folder. After I saw this message, Windows gave me another error stating that it had to shut down and restart again. This cycle continued until I decided to totally shut down windows. When I turned the power back on, my computer froze at the back Windows welcome screen. I did this about 3 or 4 times. To me, this seemed like a software problem. So I turned off the computer again and let it sit for awhile. When I tried turning it back on, the pc beeped and the moniter alerted me that there was no signal from the computer. Now this seemed like a hardware problem because I couldn't even boot up the computer. I finally called Dell. They took me through a step by step process, trying to deduce the problem. At first they thought it was the memory. I have two memory sticks, and we tried taking one out, then the other, and so forth. The technician on the other line seemed to think that there were no problems with the memory. She said it was a problem with the processor and that I need to have it replaced. Before I spend 200 bucks on a processor, can anyone verify this problem?? Would the error messages Windows gave me be related to this hardware malfunction, or is this a different problem altogether?? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
__________________

Djchrisz84 is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 12:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I have never seen an explorer.exe issue relating to hardware. However stranger things have happened. Before you replace hardware, have you tried to repair windows via OS disk ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 12:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

You can try to run Memtest and see if you have any problems with your memory. Aside from that have you had any problems with this system before. It might just be the OS suffered from a virus or spyware problem. Can you get into safe mode at all and check the error log? If not then it might be the processor if none of these help any.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.