Software or Hardware? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2004, 03:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Default Software or Hardware?

Theres something strange about my computer. Its running xp pro and its build by dell. The strange thing is sometimes it will restart itself (its not the blaster worm). I'm not sure if its overheating or whatever it is. Also when I start up my computer and double-click my computer icon, it takes almost 5 minutes to load up. The whole time all I see is a flashlight searching for the icons. Btw, its not a slow cpu, its a P4 2.8HT w/ 800fsb. I can't figure out if there is something wrong with the harddrive or if it is a software issue. I did scandisk already on all the harddrives but that didn't do a thing. Please someone help me out. If can't fix it, I might just format the drives.:sigh:
__________________

jason006 is offline  
Old 02-18-2004, 04:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

test the hard disks one-by-one, test it alone and disconnect all other hard disk. you need to isolate which disk is causing the problem. use a disk from another computer and test your disks on another computer if possible.

formatting may do nothing. if i remember correctly there was something about switching from PIO to DMA mode. can't remember if that had to do with slow hard disks or not.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 12:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
test the hard disks one-by-one, test it alone and disconnect all other hard disk. you need to isolate which disk is causing the problem. use a disk from another computer and test your disks on another computer if possible.

formatting may do nothing. if i remember correctly there was something about switching from PIO to DMA mode. can't remember if that had to do with slow hard disks or not.
So you think it is more likely to be a harddrive problem? I'll check it out on thursday when I have time. I think it is possible that xp isn't compatible with my old HP cd-rw. You think?
jason006 is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 12:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default

Call Dell,
Everyone has trouble with dell,Dell is hell.
Take it back and ask them.
stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 12:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stan-the-man
Call Dell,
Everyone has trouble with dell,Dell is hell.
Take it back and ask them.
hahaha! i'd rather not. I heard that they got awful customer support and you have to be on the phone with them for hours. Also, I'm not sure if its my cd-rw or software thats causing problems, so I'm not sure if they'll warranty it.
jason006 is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 01:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 241
Default Re: Software or Hardware?

Quote:
Originally posted by jason006
Theres something strange about my computer. Its running xp pro and its build by dell. The strange thing is sometimes it will restart itself (its not the blaster worm). I'm not sure if its overheating or whatever it is. Also when I start up my computer and double-click my computer icon, it takes almost 5 minutes to load up. The whole time all I see is a flashlight searching for the icons. Btw, its not a slow cpu, its a P4 2.8HT w/ 800fsb. I can't figure out if there is something wrong with the harddrive or if it is a software issue. I did scandisk already on all the harddrives but that didn't do a thing. Please someone help me out. If can't fix it, I might just format the drives.:sigh:
Yes format,but do you have a Windows XP disk to install it again ???

I doubt it so whats next ???
stan-the-man is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 03:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Re: Software or Hardware?

Quote:
Originally posted by stan-the-man
Yes format,but do you have a Windows XP disk to install it again ???

I doubt it so whats next ???
believe it or not i do have the XP Pro disk I'm eligible to get it from Microsoft for free + 13.00 shipping because I work for a retailer that sell their products.
jason006 is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 03:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Default

thanks for the tip microbell. i checked the device manager and there are no errors or conflicts. i ran norton system works and there are disk errors. the problem doesn't occur anymore at the moment. I hope it'll stay that way. keep my fingers crossed.
__________________

jason006 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.