software for broadband users - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2005, 11:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
purveyor of fine cheeses
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 323
Question software for broadband users

Soon our household will be getting broadband internet - about time too. However, there are members of the household, i.e. my parents, that are concerned with the security of the PC and the type of content that can be viewed. So I'm looking for different opinions on which software is best for the following:

1) Firewall. Is the built in Windows one good enough? Can you get better versions that allow for more customisation?

2) Content blocking. I have been told that if some software could block certain websites, content, or download files, and not restrict others that would be good.

Preferably both pieces of software would be password protected and able to be used over multiple user accounts.

So, is there any good stuff out there?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v208/knowledgelifeguard/homer21.gif\" alt=\"Image hosted by Photobucket.com\" width=\"125\" height=\"104.8\"> <font size=\"1\"><i>\"I like these real Saturdays, not like that fake one that almost got me fired.\"</font></i>
SupremeRuler99 is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

1) No. ZoneAlarm is good, and free. I am using ComputerAssociates ezArmor, that has the pro version of ZoneAlarm.

2) Yeah. You can get content filters. Go with a good comercial one, not the free ones. But sure to use a password, and make it something that you kids won't guess.

You don't need to put a password on a firewall. You want it running all the time, period (especially with a broadband/always on connection).

Also, you're going to need a good antivirus suite. And that means something besides MacAfee or Norton. I recommend what I am running, but it ain't free (about $30 a year... well worth it).
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 02:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

some of the best firewalls IMO are in routers. if you get one with SPI and NAT, then there would have to be a really good hacker who really wants in to get in. I got a wireless router with SPI and NAT, and it blocks literally hundreds of hacker attempts a day
although as far as software firewalls go, Sygate is a good one
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 02:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

When you think about it NAT isn't all that safe, any network guru can tell what your local address especially for home user. The famous class c address 192.168.1.0 use by linksys and 2.0 by belkin and so fourth. It just make it longer for the hacker. Just my thought anyone care to add?
Law is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 04:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

If you are going broadband, you need a better firewall than the windows one. As Trotter says, Zone alarm is very good (the free is okay, but I recommend you get the pro, I did and don't regret it)
dnoch is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 04:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
When you think about it NAT isn't all that safe, any network guru can tell what your local address especially for home user. The famous class c address 192.168.1.0 use by linksys and 2.0 by belkin and so fourth. It just make it longer for the hacker. Just my thought anyone care to add?
NAT is really just to turn some people away if they can't be bothered, but SPI is really powerful
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.