So this Windows user profile just... disappeared.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jayce

Fully Optimized
As a tech, I have always used Clonezilla Live to make a backup of the entire disk prior to me touching a computer. That way if something tanks, I can bring it back to how it was from the beginning.

My buddy is also a tech, but didn't use Clonezilla on this particular system. A friend of his came to him with a laptop running Vista. It was having a printer issue. Simple enough, right? He uninstalled the printer and reinstalled it. When trying to reinstall it, it was hanging. Ultimately he found Norton was interfering with it, so he uninstalled Norton.

He booted back up only to find the entire user profile deleted. Everything is just gone. He ran a recovery within Vista to try and knock it back to how it was prior but it didn't take.

He fired up an Ubuntu LiveCD and let me remote in. I ran disk usage analyzer on it and a few other utilities. Ultimately, there's no personal data on that drive. No Windows.old folder, nothing in temp. Nadda. Not a single trace of any *.mp3 file, doc file, jpg, anything. It's just gone.

Dear Vista - What the ****?

He's going to fire up a forensics LiveCD and see if he can recover anything off of it. But I have to wonder, what in the world happened? I find it VERY strange a profile can just, oops. byebye.

I would look to Norton for this one. Since Norton threw such a fit about wanting Kernel access within Vista when UAC was first announced and it was granted things just went downhill from there. This is not the first time i have heard of a system using Norton to just lose everything.

I find it very poor that any piece of "legit" software would apt to doing such devastation to a computer. This is exactly why I consider Norton itself to be a virus, and not an anti-virus.