So wierd..its like its caused by... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2004, 12:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default So wierd..its like its caused by...

I bought the game Painkiller. I install it and get ready to play. Everything starts up fine, except that the flash screen as Painkiller starts is the screen for the game Uru - Ages Beyond Myst. I play for a while, having fun fragging. Then, I restart my computer, and Painkiller will no longer load. I just get a Uru splash screen and then an error message saying the application failed to initialize. I re-installed, and got the same thing. To thicken the plot, my file-type associations and grouping in My Computer is gone, plus my Processor is no longer listed when i load up System Properties. Can somebody tell me whats going on here! Thanks in advance.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 01:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

hmmm sounds like a virus...
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 01:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Just did a full system scan this morning with completely up-to-date virus definitions
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 11:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Default

You might need to reformat or something. Or you could try system restore to see if it fixes it.
__________________
BRoWZ is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 11:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I did the system restore, and it fixed everything and the game plays with the third disc in. I still get that Uru splash screen, though.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 01:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

is uru istalled?
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 01:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

yes
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.