So I noticed something funny under Vista yesterday... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2008, 12:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
TheOtis's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default So I noticed something funny under Vista yesterday...

This may be somehwhat difficult to explain and I hope I can explain it ok...

The last rig I had is very similar to my current one, only this time I'm running 4gigs, 2 video cards, and 64-bit Vista.

When I exited out of Supreme Commander I believe, and had IE up and I was downloading a WoW patch (Yes, I took the plunge haha), I noticed under system resources the computer was using 2.11 GB or something.

Now before, when I was running 2gigs of Crucial Ballistix, at the same timings and speed, I don't think I ever saw it reach higher then 1.5GB after exiting out of a game, and having IE up and downloading something. (Yes, I know, Firefox FTW, It's what I use on my laptop, I don't use my gaming rig for internet use really)

Since the extra RAM is there, does windows use the memory more efficiently or what?

I mean, doing two similar things, on two similar systems, but it takes up more memory on the 4GB system then the 2GB? Is that weird at all? I mean I'm glad to see it using as much as it can, but I guess I'm just curious how Vista 64-bit uses RAM and how efficiently. Anyone know much about it?

Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: So I noticed something funny under Vista yesterday...

Yes, vista uses the memory to prefetch. Basically unused RAM is wasted ram.

Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 10:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688
Default Re: So I noticed something funny under Vista yesterday...

Vista will try to load as much as it can into RAM. It will eventualy learn what programs you use the most, and will try and have them ready and loaded in RAM....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Service Pack 1 - for you 4gb people :) atomic tofu Microsoft Windows and Software 16 03-19-2008 05:11 PM
xp and vista solidsteve Microsoft Windows and Software 12 01-05-2008 07:35 PM
Download Windows Vista SP1 RC1 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-06-2007 08:37 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 04:31 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.