So I forgot an important part in my build haha.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2008, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 27
Question So I forgot an important part in my build haha..

Yeah, I forgot I had the buy an OS.

(Flame me if you want, but I'm going with Vista.)

Out of the many different Vista options, which one should I pick lol?
__________________

Bodom is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: So I forgot an important part in my build haha..

I say Home Premium. You get almost all the goods, Media Center and all that. But you dont have to pay the hefty price. There is only 3 Ultimate Extras. Not worth that kind of Money in my opinon.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 27
Default Re: So I forgot an important part in my build haha..

Whats the differences between Home Basic and Home Premium?
Bodom is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: So I forgot an important part in my build haha..

Basic doesnt have Aero, Flip3D or Media Center.

Even easier. USe this chart to see which version has what.

Compare Editions
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 27
Default Re: So I forgot an important part in my build haha..

Yeah I'm going with Home Premium. Would there be a lot of problems with 64 bit?
Bodom is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: So I forgot an important part in my build haha..

Depends. Check the software sites that you run to see if the versions they have run on 64 Bit. Also check your games and all that too. Might have to patch a few of them to make sure they work right. Not all apps work on 64 Bit and you would have to find a replacement.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 27
Default Re: So I forgot an important part in my build haha..

I remember someone talking about 64bit if it was not supported, the OS would send nullfied data to make it like 32? Were they incorrect?
Bodom is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: So I forgot an important part in my build haha..

No. If the app is not supported then it wouldnt even install. If 64 bIt is supported but the application is not 64 Bit then it emulates 32 Bit. But only then.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 27
Default Re: So I forgot an important part in my build haha..

Oh I see. So do you think it would be a good idea to Dual boot XP Pro and Vista?
Bodom is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 11:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: So I forgot an important part in my build haha..

I dual boot XP and Vista. I think it is a great idea. That way you can do what you want on Vista. If it doesn't work then go into XP and do it.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LAST/FINAL part of my build, need your opinion!!!! HELP! OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 15 08-06-2007 02:08 AM
Home build WiFi project part 2. (Discussion) Kharn Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 07-23-2007 12:50 PM
Home build WiFi project part 2. Kharn Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 0 07-23-2007 12:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.