Smart Link modem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2006, 12:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default Smart Link modem

I am using WinXP SP2 (Home Edition), Mozilla 1.7.13. in my Notebook.
Recently, when I tried to download a file, a program called "Smart Link 56K Modem" appeared in the Taskbar.

I have searched for this progarm with the help of "Search", but was not able to locate the directory of this program.

Anyway, I am wondering what software or any methods can let me know the directory of this progarm locates.
Just like "Paint" can be found by this way: Progarm>Accessories>Paint.

I just can't see "Smart Link 56K Modem" in the porgram folder, but it will open whenever I start to download a file.

Here are the print screens:

http://www.geocities.com/space4cidp/smartlink1.jpg

http://www.geocities.com/space4cidp/smartlink2.jpg
__________________

kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 01:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Search for the following file and see if it's on your computer. File - slserv.exe
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 08:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by __Camouflage__
Search for the following file and see if it's on your computer. File - slserv.exe
This file is located in "C:\WINDOWS\system32", but I can't open it.
kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 11:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

what do you need to do with this program?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 02:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
what do you need to do with this program?
No, just out of curiosity!
kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 06:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

The slserv.exe process may be needed for your modem to work correctly. If possible you should leave this process running, unless it causes instability for your system. Slserv.exe is flagged as a system process and does not appear to be a security risk. However, removing Smartlink Service may adversly impact your system. The Spy Bot database currently registers slserv.exe to Smartlink. This is part of Smartlink Modem Drivers.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 06:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Here's another process that pertains to Slserv.exe, The slrundll.exe process is used by your computer when communicating with your Smartlink modem. If you do not have a Smartlink modem installed in your computer, or no longer use this modem, stop the slrundll.exe process. Slrundll.exe is an application that does NOT appear to be a security risk. The Spy Bot database currently registers slrundll.exe to Smartlink. This is part of Smartlink Modem Drivers.
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 11:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by __Camouflage__
Here's another process that pertains to Slserv.exe, The slrundll.exe process is used by your computer when communicating with your Smartlink modem. If you do not have a Smartlink modem installed in your computer, or no longer use this modem, stop the slrundll.exe process. Slrundll.exe is an application that does NOT appear to be a security risk. The Spy Bot database currently registers slrundll.exe to Smartlink. This is part of Smartlink Modem Drivers.
Oh, my goodness!
Yes, I am using spybot, but I am sure I didn't tell you before.

How did you know that? Just a guess, right?
kwokwai is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 05:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

»\_(ツ)_/»
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Run MSCONFIG, and uncheck any entry about Smart Link.

Sounds like it is just a tray icon.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 06:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kwokwai
Oh, my goodness!
Yes, I am using spybot, but I am sure I didn't tell you before.

How did you know that? Just a guess, right?
No! See, GOOGLE.COM works for everything, you should try it sometime.
__________________

__Camouflage__ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.