Small problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to The Kraut
Default Small problem

This is a small problem but annoys me. I cannot see the status of my dial-up connection when i use it. Therefore since its not there i cant dissconnect it and i have to pull the line out from the modem. How do get the little internet connection status icon in the taskbar. I have tried everything i know and i bet its something extremly simple and im being stupid.
__________________

__________________
Better sig coming soon.
The Kraut is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Have you tried a repair of windows?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to The Kraut
Default

No i havent. You dont know of any thing i have to enable or setting i have to change? How would i go about repairing windows?
__________________
Better sig coming soon.
The Kraut is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I can't think of any.

Let me ask you come questions.

You mean theres no icon in lower right hand corner of screen saying your connected?

Have you tried Network connections in control panel?

You would run a repair by booting off of the OS disc, that you probably don't have. So nvm that.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 01:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Im not sure if its the same as network connections but if you right click on network connections, click properties, then click show icon in notification area.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to The Kraut
Default

Yeah, i have had the show icon in notification box checked and it still does not show up. I have the cds somewhere, so i could try to repair xp. I really dont know what i should do you repair it though. Thanks for the effort guys.
__________________

__________________
Better sig coming soon.
The Kraut is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.