Small browser? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2005, 04:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Small browser?

Just installed Windows XP on my diagnostic dual P2. Surprisingly fast so far, since I turned off pretty much every service and option other than the firewall.

Starting with the browser... Anyone know of a browser that uses VERY little system resources? I'm stuck with 128MB of P133 SDRAM so far. XP alone right now is at 70 MB of resources...
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 06:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Off topic, but turning off system restore will help ya out lots.
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 06:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Oh, yeah. One of the first things I did. I went A LOT further than that, too.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 07:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

you should be runnin fine then, a buddy of mine runs xp on a pentium class 133. it's slow but it works.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 07:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Maybe something like this?

enigma
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 08:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

www.opera.com
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 09:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
www.opera.com
Did they take out the ads in the free version yet?
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 09:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yeah, like months ago.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 09:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Yeah, like months ago.
I'd try it but I just luv IE too much.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 09:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

IE?! I KNEW you were too good to be true. xD
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.