Slow XP bootup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2005, 04:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default Slow XP bootup

hiya

ive got a toshiba satellite laptop
1.8Ghz
1 GB RAM
80GB Hard disk
XP home SP2

it was fine for a few weeks that i had it
after a while it started booting up slow
it used to be up in 5-10 seconds, but now it takes close to 20-30.

im not sure what has been done cos my dad fiddles with it, trying to get broadband working

ive used spybot S&D and fixed everyhting it found, and did a full scan with norton 2005, and ixed all the problems that brought up

this had no real change on the boot up speed.

i really dont know what else to do to fix this

any help would be hot

thx
__________________

Chrono is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 04:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

go start run > then type "msconfig", go to the start up tab and disable things you dont need
__________________

__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 08:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Defrag perhaps? You might also want to try BootVis (I think it's avaliable from Mircosoft), that seems to speed things up, though I have no idea how to use it.
BootVis

EDIT: Was SP2 installed around the time that you start experiencing slow boots? This happened on my machine when I installed the service pack and it's been slow ever since.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 09:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 193
Default

if i analyze the hard disk it tells me i dont need to defrag

SP2 has been on the whole time

go start run > then type "msconfig", go to the start up tab and disable things didnt help

i really dont wanna use BootVis cos ive herd it can stuff u ur comp in rare occasions, and i cant risk that


i just wanna restore my comp to how it used to be.

i dunno why it is suddenly slower
Chrono is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 10:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chrono
if i analyze the hard disk it tells me i dont need to defrag

Try downloading Microsoft Anti-Spyware.

You should still run defrag on a regular basis. It will make your hard drive happy and perform better.
1badtech is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 12:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default

Have you recently updated zone alarm . My zone alarm was causing slow boot up. Switched to windows firewall---fixed it.
geekster is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 08:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

hmm bout loosing ur stuff i doubt thatd happen. back it up now while its easy! if u think its spyware or adware or mal way or even a virus.. use online scans
also us adware personal... let it run almost alone its a resourse hog when it scans.. but it always comes up with some good stuff u didn't knwo was there lol. also when u turn ur computer off make sure it turns off right... if u turn it off wrong it boots up slower. if u turn it OFF then on it is slower than a reboot..
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 09:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Hrm, do the msconfig, that's the most abrasive try. Where is it lagging though? Where the status bar runs, when it gets into windows and starts prgms, etc..?
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 05:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

well my comp was fast when it first booted, but i installed software and that was too much for my machine. Maybe too much software is installed?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.