slow windows load - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2006, 11:17 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

it all started (i think) when i tried to install pinnacle's video editing suite but it turned out it didn't work w/ 64x OS's. even though i uninstalled the software, the load time is still slow. everything about the program is gone, including all its registry files.

the specs of my computer are in my signature, but yes i know its hard to read cause the animation sucks so ill write them:
cpu: amd fx-57 (2.8ghz)
gpu: 7800gt (sli)
ram: corsair value (2048mb)
hd: maxtor 180gb
psu: aspire 680w
os: windows xp professional 64x edition
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 11:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

As well as some of the steps already mentioned, also do the following:

1. Check the disk for any errors. Run command prompt and type CHKDSK x: /R where x: is your operating system partition.

You'll be asked whether you'd like to scan upon next boot...make sure you answer yes to this. Reboot the machine to start checking the disk.


2. Secondly I'd check to see how heavily fragmented the drive is. Go to Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Computer Management > Disk Defragmenter click to analyze all your partitions, and defrag them if needed - one at a time.


3. Next try running Microsoft Bootvis, downloadable here:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=664

Use it to optimize the boot process.


4. If you've installed CCleaner, open it and on the left, click Issues. Scan for issues, and then fix any issues found.


5. Download Sysnternals PageDefrag, extract it to a folder and run the program. Select to Defrag at next boot and click ok. Reboot the machine.


6. You might also want to perform a thorough system scan using Avast! Antivirus if you haven't done so already.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 11:41 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you can try a system restore point or last known good config
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 02:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

hmm i've done all that, and it seems to be working now. the load time is down to less than a second =D thanks for your help, everyone
but this iTunes thing is bugging me. no matter which version i use, (the one that came w/ the ipod or the latest version) none of them work. it always gives me that screen that says report the error and whatnot. what could be wrong? i definatly need itunes to work or else... no more updating my ipod =( anyone have a solution to this problem?
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 03:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 48
Default

you should just contact apple
__________________
Looking for computers to buy?
Visit:
<a href=http://www.abstracttech.com>http://www.abstracttech.com</a>
hereyago is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 03:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

pfft... they're all indian and use responses like
"Hello, my name is Mary Sue which is completely american. What are your problem this day that may I help with you? What is your email address for purpose of verification may I ask?"
and im like ".... umm laser.viking@gmail.com and im having problems with itunes not working when i try to start it"
and they're like "Thank you for providing us with your email address for purpose of verification. If I understand correctly, you are having problems with itunes not working when you try to start it?"
and im like "... yes"
and then they take like 10 minutes to respond and then they say "I'm sorry I cannot help you with your problem. I now will transfer you to another representative of support for your problem of itunes not working when you try to start it."
and then im like "Whatever."
and then the other support rep is like "Hello, my name is John Doe which is completely american. What are your problem this day that may I help with you? What is your email address for purpose of verification may I ask?
and then i just close the window. thats how it always is, more or less. then they spam me with questionaires asking me wether or not my "techincal support experiance" was helpful or not...


okay </rant>
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 04:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

turn off windows error reporting service
__________________

Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.