Slow startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2006, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Default Slow startup

when my computer is starting up it seems like it takes 3-5min to get to the login screen and then when i get logged in it takes another few minutes for all the popup icons to popup and some of them i cant get rid of like some norton error windows will pop up. please help!!
__________________

Tech_Man4567 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 02:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

When was the last time you defragmented your hard drive? Start>>Run>>"msconfig"

Uncheck all items but your antivirus. Reboot when prompted.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Default

ok but how do i know what might keep the computer for booting right i dont want to uncheck anything that might screw up my computer completely
Tech_Man4567 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

You can uncheck everything in the startup tab if need be but your antivirus is the 1 thing that you definately want to start everytime.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 03:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Default

ok thanks
Tech_Man4567 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 09:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Default

You can check what to keep at startup here, best to try by retaining your firewall and antivirus.
http://castlecops.com/StartupList.html.
And as shawn suggested, run a disk cleanup then chkdsk and defragment the drive regularly to improve your boot and shutdown.
dma11 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 09:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Go here and read the steps:
http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...983#post534983

Do them in this order: 3 - 2 - 1 - 4 - 5.

Then download and install BootVis:
http://www.majorgeeks.com/BootVis_d664.html
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 05:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

get rid of norton antivirus if you are getting bad norton pop-ups
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.