Slow Start Up, Low Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2005, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Default Slow Start Up, Low Memory

So, I tried installing NOD32 Antivirus. This might have been mistake number one. After I restarted, it gave me an error about something32.dll. My computer said I had to shut down in one minute. I started up today, took 5+ minutes on the logon screen where it says "Windows Starting Up". Then, after a good 5 minutes my desktop loads. I uninstall NOD32. I try open IE, nothing. I can open other explorer windows (My Documents, etc.) but if I try to go to the Internet from there, it just freezes. So, then my McAfee AV, says I don't have enough disk space or memory for it to run. I run AVG, yes I was going to uninstall some AVs after I got NOD32 working, AVG free finds no viruses. I try running System Restore and it says it cannot protect my computer. I have 512 mb RAM, and about 26.1 gigs left on my hdd. Most of my programs are telling me I am low on memory. NOTHING is running. What should I do? Just format and reinstall Windows?
__________________

Glueeater is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 05:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Did you say you installed 2 antiviruses? Never do that. Post your running processes here.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 06:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Well, it was going to be 3. But right now I have 2, is that bad? AVG and McAfee running together. I'm thinking about uninstalling both and downloading ZoneAlarm Security Suite.

Odd thing just happened, I left it on the logon screen for 10+ minutes and it loaded desktop and programs just fine. I thought it might have fixed itself, dumb me, and restarted. Well, now its slow again, I had chance to system restore right there

I'll post my running processes now:

svchost.exe <-This seems to be on there 5+ times.
SMAgent.exe
Mpfservice.exe
Msssrv.exe
taskmgr.exe
ati2vxx.exe <- 2 present.
lsass.exe
services.exe
winlogon.exe
csrss.exe
smss.exe
ctfmon.exe
gcasServ.exe
atiptaxx.exe
qttask.exe
jusched.exe
realsched.exe
Msscli.exe
System
System Idle Processes

Theres more that are for Mcafee, like updates and control centers, as well as for AVG. Theres also one for StyleXP and Protowall.

I have to go for a second. Will edit in a second, theres a lot.
Glueeater is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

What does the second ati2vxx.exe run at? ( cpu usage wise? )
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 06:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I dont know, what does it read? Go to msconfig and and go to startup and disable everything but your antivirus....reboot and see if thats faster
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 06:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Yes, I'm sort of a computer noob. Where do I go for msconfig?
Glueeater is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 06:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

start, run, type msconfig. go to the last tab which is startup, click diable all, then reboot..before you do that, are all the boxes on the left check marked? ok, now reboot.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 01:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 81
Default

wat is he trying to do??
Jilan is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 04:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

running 2 antivirus software at once is a recipie for trouble. Uninstall the one you dont like, and keep your favourite.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 03:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Well, I'm in the process of waiting for my computer to boot, I MUST wait at least 30 minutes or else it won't run properly, something about low memory. Gah. Could it me my RAM or is Windows just messed up? I'll do the msconfig once I can get on...
__________________

Glueeater is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.