slow reboot on upgraded win 2k3 server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2006, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to selina Send a message via Yahoo to selina
Default slow reboot on upgraded win 2k3 server

we upgraded our client's server to win 2k3 from 2k sp4 this past saturday.
everything went fine until we rebooted it after the upgrade. it took about 5-10 min to reboot . what we noticed at boot up was that it was stuck at the screen saying "windows is establishing network connection..." for about 5min by itself. it eventually boots up with no error logged on. and we noticed that DNS service wasn't running. even when we start it manually, it just stopped. regardless, we needed to install R2 and we did. rebooted again. the same thing. long reboot and no DNS service. but after we left it for a while (about 1hr), DNS service started running.
now our questions are:
1. why did (or does) it take so long to boot up?
2. what was causing DNS service not to run?
3. what started DNS service to run after all?
4. did DNS service just needed some time to start on its own? were we just impatient?

all other local servers are still on 2k. one of them is exchange and we have exchange 2k3 on it. we were too unsure to upgrade this win2k to 2k3... we need to find out the above questions before i move to the other servers upgrade.

any help is appreciated!!

selina is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 01:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan

You probably have a bunch of junk installed on your machine that you dont need....extra servers and stuff....

If your looking for a server....many prefer is extremely succeptable to lsass attacks.....and thats coming from somebody who installed a pro version provided free through MSNDAA and chucked it for a debian distro....

shdwsclan is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 11:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 228
Send a message via ICQ to selina Send a message via Yahoo to selina

hi read somewhere to check the system info and see if there is any bad device or conflict devices. but i lost that link and can't find it!! does anyone have any idea what i'm talking about???
selina is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.