Slow Burning - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2004, 03:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to PicHold Send a message via AIM to PicHold Send a message via Yahoo to PicHold
Default Slow Burning

I am sure this is a software/OS issue, as opposed to a hardware issue..

Anyway, I've just formatted and upgraded to a diff build of XP. Now, when I burn a cd, it takes about 5-10 minutes.
I have a lite-on 52x24x52 with the firmware updated.

Back when I ran 2k, it burned slowly. I installed XP on, it ran quickly and burned cds between 2-3 minutes, depending on cd length.

Now, I am back on this build of XP with SP1a, and it burns slow.

I have 1gb pc3200 ram, and am running a 2800xp.

Any ideas would be appreciated.
__________________

PicHold is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 04:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

What kind of media are you buring to and what software are you using to burn?

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 05:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

only thing I can thing of is that the media itself may be burning at a lower speed. Make sure it is 52x media and make sure the software is set to burn at that speed as well.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 04-06-2004, 05:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to PicHold Send a message via AIM to PicHold Send a message via Yahoo to PicHold
Default

I've always used nero, and have been able to burn at 52x with both OS's.

Same media on both OS's. Set to burn at 52x on both OS's.

Before, I could burn and listen to music all the while.. now my comp struggles when burning.

I'll probably end up going back to the other OS unless I can get a helpful hint here, heh.
PicHold is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 02:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to PicHold Send a message via AIM to PicHold Send a message via Yahoo to PicHold
Default

I just formatted and put a diff version of XP Sp1 on it, and it burned normal speed + I could play music while doing it.

Guess it was just my copies of XP and W2k.

But, now I install the rest of my files and see if it slows it down, and locate my problem!
PicHold is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 06:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 32
Default

PicHold, did you clean out your cache folder? Nero backs up stuff you're burning to a cache folder (you can find the path easy in Nero). If that starts getting full Nero will give all sorts of error messages. Even stuff like unable to burn and the like.

I dunno. Maybe that could have been taking up system resources and messed with your machine? Hard to tell without seeing the problem first hand.

I've never used Nero but have heard about cache file woes if it's not cleaned out regularly.

Cheers!
kiri is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 06:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to PicHold Send a message via AIM to PicHold Send a message via Yahoo to PicHold
Default

IT was a fresh install, and the first time I tried to burn.

I am positive it was the OS.

A friend had "injected" critical updates into it apparently.
PicHold is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 09:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Go to Control Panel->System->Hardware Tab->Device Manager.
When you get there, open the IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers branch and then open the properties of Primary IDE or Secondary IDE channels (it depends on wich IDE channel your CD-RW is connected). When opened the properties window go to the Advanced Settings Tab and tell me what is the value in Transfer Mode Combo Boxes of both Device 0 and Device 1 (PIO Only or DMA if avaliable).
Wishmaster is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 09:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 228
Send a message via Yahoo to jaun1477
Default

one thing that slows the procces is having the cd burner as slave check that too and you'll see the diff.. 10 minutes takes to do a vcd and i keep my music playing while doing it
__________________
EL VAQUERO
_________________
amd athlon xp 2400+
1 apacer 256mb unb pc2700 cl2.5
motherboard msi kt4av via kt400a chipset based
1 ??? 512 mb pc2700
1 agp 8x/4x (geforce 4 predator mx4408x)
2 year old 21 magnavox monitor
1 aquos sharp 15\"tv
Seagate 40gb hd
DC Output: 420Watts Total: +5V/0~42A, +12V/0~18A
+3.3V/0~26A, -5V/0~0.8A, -12V/0~1.0A, +5VSB/0~2.5A.
http://img44.photobucket.com/albums/...vantar_gif.gif
jaun1477 is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 02:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to PicHold Send a message via AIM to PicHold Send a message via Yahoo to PicHold
Default

It's been default winXP settings, and now it works fine.

Just don't know -why- it ****ed up in the first place.
__________________

PicHold is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.