Slow boot-up and slow loading - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 10-06-2006, 11:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie

Default Slow boot-up and slow loading

I have a decent computer. P4 3.4 ghz 1gb ram yada yada.

Im running windows xp pro.

I've been running fine for about 2 months now when all of a sudden my computer started acting up, it first wouldnt boot into windows it would only power up. I did nothing at all and the next day it worked fine again. The day after that everything went to crap, slow boot up into windows (53 blue loading screen bars) and opening windows such as my computer or msconfig took nearly 30-40 seconds to open. I downloaded memtest86 and ran that with no errors to my memory.

Im stumped, can anyone tell me whats going on, I hit Alt-Ctrl-Del and brought up the processes window and nothing seems to be making my cpu run overly much so I dont know whats going on.

Also sound is messed up, When listening to a song and if i open a web browser or any window the song will skip as if it was trying to load a huge program. Could it be my hard drive?

Anyones tips/tricks would help me out right now as im so stumped. Thanks in advance.

Old 10-06-2006, 11:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie

Have you ran all your Anti-Virus programs, Ad-ware, Mal-ware, Spy-ware? Run those programs in SAFE MODE to get best results.

Old 10-06-2006, 11:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie

Yes Sir, I also have mcafee AV 2005 to protect my system too.
I really do not wanna reformatt AGAIN but it seems that i might have to... *sigh*
Old 10-06-2006, 11:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie

Alright, you might have to, there is nothing better than a clean install anyway. Do you have a partition to save your important files on?
Old 10-06-2006, 11:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie