Skype gives free landbased and mobile based phone calls! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2006, 10:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 80
Default

only at wher can have thiskind of free services by Skype ? USing Skype to call normal cellphone for free ?
__________________

ck84 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 01:30 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Anybody can use Skype, and call any phone number for free.

However, you need a microphone, and you cant get incoming calls.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:01 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 80
Default

i taught calling normal cellphone or house phone thru Skype is not free...
this free services is at where ?
ck84 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 30
Default

Its free for US Landlines & Mobiles (if ur in US). ****, I hope they extend it to the UK

edit: Why arent I not allowed D@mn!
h2oz7v is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

The main reason to keep your landline phone....

Power Outage.

Your PC cant run with a power outage but if you have a corded phone you can still use it to call out in case of exergency. Besides a Cell phone. Since a corded phone draws its power right from the phone line you can still make calls in a emergency. So there are still major reasons to keep your phone service. Other than the 911 emergency service.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Skype is free for US and Canada, just like Vonage.

How would they charge you for calling elsewhere though?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 06:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 245
Default

using SkypeOut, talldude...
jdhore1 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 09:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 80
Default

d@mn, i not in US. can get the free service
ck84 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 09:25 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

No you can't...
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 12:24 AM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jdhore1
using SkypeOut, talldude...

I'll have to read the fine-print next time i download something...
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.