Six Vista annoyances fixed in Windows 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

KSoD

Call me Mak or K, Mod Emeritus
I sometimes wonder how Microsoft's interface designers find the strength to go to work every day. It certainly isn't for the external validation. In the past two-plus years, I've read countless complaints about the Windows Vista user interface. It has too many options for ordinary users. It doesn't offer enough options for advanced users. It's dumbed down and overcomplicated, sometimes all at the same time. To listen to the critics, Vista's designers succeeded in making every feature worse than XP. In fact, the latest complaint is that Vista and the upcoming Windows 7 are even worse than Windows 98.

Or maybe not. I've been using Windows Vista full time for more than three years, and I've been running various builds of Windows 7 on a daily basis for the last couple months. Maybe Microsoft's software designers have learned something from all that criticism, because I see plenty of small but significant improvements in Windows 7.

In this post, I'll show you six specific annoyances from Windows Vista that are fixed in Windows 7. Each one represents an easier, more efficient way to accomplish a common task. Collectively, they constitute some pretty persuasive evidence that “have it our way” is no longer the controlling design principle among Windows' designers.

Vista Annoyance #1: That awkward Preview pane
Vista Annoyance #2: The overcomplicated Shutdown button
Vista Annoyance #3: Arranging windows, awkwardly
Vista Annoyance #4: Unpleasant User Account Control
Vista Annoyance #5: The ultra-minimalist Defrag utility
Vista Annoyance #6: The no-options backup program

Source: WinBeta | Ed Bott's Microsoft Report

....... #1-4 felt seems to be too picky.....

#5 strongly agree
#6 can't say..... I backup my stuff myself

Well the UAC i can understand. To be prompted for Admin rights to install even a web browser seems to be a bit too much.