Simple question (well, kinda!)... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2004, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Question Simple question (well, kinda!)...

Hey, everyone. Recently I've had a quite nasty problem with WinXP SP2 (yeah, what a surprise). Anyway, basically, my system reboots every time Windows is loading. It has nothing to do with a worm or anything, actually I think I messed up something...
Well, the thing is that I don't have anything backed up, so I don't want to format the system... yet. What I had my friend do is install a version of WinXP SP2 Corporate Edition over my totally messed up version. I know it's not the best way to solve the problem, but I MUST have access to my files ASAP. Ok, so the question is: is this harmful for my system? I know that I will have to re-install any programs that I had (no problem) and maybe some drivers. But, is there anything else I should do? Any problems that this dirty installation will cause or something?
Thank you very much, and sorry for making such a long post.
__________________

Generator is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 04:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

One thing you could do is pop that HDD into another machine (as a slave) and access it.

Another thing you could do is boot to Safe-Mode.

Or, you could create a boot-disk for XP and install from there.

My first try would be to slave the drive, though.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 04:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

if you do an overlay install all programs, drivers and files should still work

I wouldn't do it though

I would hook it up to another computer, you don't neccesarely have to put it as slave, it depends on the way you connect it
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 04:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

I've had that error quite consistently with friends machines. I actually called Windows support, and they gave me these instructions to roll back the SP2 update.

Boot to the windows CD, and enter the recovery console.

From there navigate to the following directory.

%NtServicePackUpdate%/spuninst

then type

batch spuninst


You'll see a lot of dos commands rolling down your screen, once its done, reboot the machine, go into the add/remove programs, and uninstall the rest of sp2.


1 warning though. One of the machines I did this on wound up freezing on boot so we wound up re-formatting.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 10-12-2004, 04:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for replying, people. Problem is right now I can't slave the drive or backup the files. It would obviously be the smart thing to do, but at this moment I don't have access to those resources.
I would've tried what bla!! told me, but that last warning just gave me the creeps...

So, anyway, I'll end up formatting this computer in a very near future, after I backup everything, but in the meanwhile, you think that an overlay install won't cause any serious conflicts whatsoever??
Generator is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 10:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Shouldn't...but that's a "shouldn't" with caution and no guarantees.

Find a friend who has a computer and yer all set. You can have him/her slave your drive and you can get to your files.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 12:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to wead
Default

if your gonna format try bla!!'s thing. Most likely you will be fine dude
__________________

__________________
-Download wead antivirus today using your brain!-
wead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.