simple question sp2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2005, 01:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 47
Question simple question sp2

I have sp1 and my automatic update has sp2 ready for me and im wondoring if i should even install it and what benifits i will get from it.
__________________

__________________
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3200+(1600MHz FSB)
Motherboard: Albatron K8X800 Pro
Memory: 1024 MB DDR400 Dual Channel PC3200 RAM
Video Card: Radeon 9800 PRO 256MB
Hard Drive: 160GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
CD Drive: 8x DVD+RW Drive
Sound: AC 97 6 channel 5.1 Full duplex digital sound
Case: X-BLADE MID-TOWER CASE: 400w power supply
Monitor: Sumsung 19\" crt syncmaster
DoomPotts is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 01:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

from http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro.../sp2chngs.mspx

Abstract
In Windows XP Service Pack 2, Microsoft is introducing a set of security technologies that will help to improve the ability of computers running Windows XP to withstand malicious attacks, especially those from viruses and worms. The technologies include these improvements:

• Network protection

• Memory protection

• E-mail handling

• Web browsing security

• Computer maintenance


Together, these security technologies will help to make it more difficult to attack Windows XP, even if the latest updates are not applied.

In addition, this service pack also includes updates designed to improve the performance and stability of several Windows features.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 02:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 47
Default

i also just deleted my old partition cause i downloaded kazaa(retarded) and made a new one and reinstalled windows xp. And i havnt installed much yet.
__________________
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3200+(1600MHz FSB)
Motherboard: Albatron K8X800 Pro
Memory: 1024 MB DDR400 Dual Channel PC3200 RAM
Video Card: Radeon 9800 PRO 256MB
Hard Drive: 160GB 7200 RPM Hard Drive
CD Drive: 8x DVD+RW Drive
Sound: AC 97 6 channel 5.1 Full duplex digital sound
Case: X-BLADE MID-TOWER CASE: 400w power supply
Monitor: Sumsung 19\" crt syncmaster
DoomPotts is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 11:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default

If possible , install offline with firewall and virus protection off. Both of my installs failed because of that. Reinstalls were successful after I turned them off.
geekster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.