simple boot up problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2004, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default simple boot up problem

I have a not necessarily a problem, but it's a hassle. I tried to reinstall XP home and wipe out my harddrive and start with a fresh install, well, needless to say, it didn't happen due to a few factors. That's not my problem. Now, I decided to not reinstall XP and to just fix the comp myself, and I did, it's running great now, but, now everytime I boot up, I get two options to boot to, one is XP Home and the other is Startup, the Startup option is highlighted by default and if I don't recognize it in time (eight seconds i think) it will automatically boot to start up. It's a pain to sit here anxiously waiting to press the up key and hit enter just to boot to XP Home, which was my default before I tried to reinstall.

Now, how do I get rid of the "Startup" option and have XP automatically boot to XP again?

I know this is probably a simple fix and I'm just overlooking a setting or something, but McAfee has given me the biggest headache today and I just don't want to search right now.

Thanks in advance,
Matthew
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

There is a file on the root of you boot drive. It is called boot.ini. Edit this file and delete the old entry for which OS you want to boot too. This is found by looking at the startup option in the file. Delete it and change the timeout to 0. That should do it for you...
Save your changes and reboot.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 09:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

delete the OS entry i want to boot to, or delete the OS entry i DON'T want to boot to?
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 03:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

delete the one u don't want to boot to.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 10:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

sorry about that... My fingers and brain are not organized enought to correct each other all of the time...

Major is right.
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 03:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

alright, thanks guys.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 07:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

What if I deleted the $WIN_NT$.~BT folder that got created when I tried to install the new XP?
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 08:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

what are you asking?
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 12:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

The folder: $WIN_NT$.~BT , instead of modifying an ini file, could I just get rid of this folder that was created when the startup option started to not boot to the startup screen?

I can't find a boot.ini file, only a boot.ini.backup, which is also in the above folder.

EDIT (i just don't trust myself to modifying system files)
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.