SimCity 4 Crashes my Computer! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2007, 04:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Unhappy SimCity 4 Crashes my Computer!

I have SimCity 4 Deluxe Edition and when I play it my computer will randomly restart. What happens is this: I can play it normally for a while like maybe an hour or less and then the screen will go black and the audio stutters, then a blue error screen appears for less than a second, then the computer restarts itself.

I got the newest patch from EA and it doesn't help. My video card has up to date drivers and my motherboard has proper drivers installed.

I am not having this problem in other games.

I tried reinstalling the game but that didn't fix it.

Leaving my anti-virus disabled doesn't seem to help + I know the anti-virus isn't the problem because my other computer has the same anti-virus software installed and the game runs perfect on that system.

please, anyone know what the problem could be?

PC Specs:
DFI Lanparty UT NF3 250GB
AMD Sempron 64 2800+ Palermo
eVGA 6600GT 128MB AGP
2x512MB DDR 400
Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA

Well OK, I set Windows to not restart when a BSOD happens so next time I get one while playing SimCity 4 I will read what it says and try to figure out what the problem is.
__________________

J4y_97 is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 06:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Well I defraged my hard disk and deleted my temp files and then I played the game for over an hour with no crashes but I don't think doing those things could have solved the problem? We'll see but as of now the game seems to be working...
__________________

J4y_97 is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 06:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

It crashed again. This time when I played, all I did different was enable 4x AA and 4x AF through NVIDIA Settings....

Anyway I got the BSOD and this is what it said,

Quote:
DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

Technical Information:

*** STOP: 0x000000D1 (0xF7BF71C6, 0x00000002, 0x00000000C 0xF6761B03)

*** nvmcp.sys - Address F6761B03 base at F6706000, DateStamp 40b3cf79
what does that mean?
J4y_97 is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 07:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

well thats deffinatly to do with the GFX carrd, which model do you have and try updating the driver fo rit before replying then if same prob post back with teh model, also does yuo pc meet the min requirements for sim city as i had a ****ty old pc i tried to play C&C generals on before and same problem happened to me.

OOPS EDIT:
only skim read this post and just saw that you have posted all of he above try updating drivers still though

also if you using a NOCD fix that doesnt match the game version thsi can cause crashes
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 07:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

I have the very latest graphics card drivers installed and I'm not using a NOCD patch.
J4y_97 is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 04:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Well I went into dxdiag and disabled Hardware Sound Acceleration and that seems to have fixed the problem. I don't even know what Hardware Sound Acceleration is but I guess I don't need it??
__________________

J4y_97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.